Anxiously Awaiting……

SadDog-960x500
Patiently waiting……

Hi again! So about a month after I finished up my training to be a CASA volunteer, I was eagerly awaiting my first case. Every day I would check my emails hoping (with some anxiety) to be notified of my first case, hoping in a very sad way. It almost felt like I was hoping for a new abuse case, which just seemed crazy! But in reality I knew it would just be a matter of time.

So I got my first email asking if I would be interested in a particular case. Of course I would! It didn’t really matter what the case was, of course, I was going to accept it! I have to admit I was a bit nervous after I heard it was a family of 3 very young children who had 3 different fathers. Three children could likely mean 3 different foster homes to visit. Because rarely, is the system able to keep siblings together. With that you are dealing with children who have been removed from their home, separated from their parents and to make it even worse they are separated from their siblings. It’s a sad fact that the Foster Care system just doesn’t have enough resources or homes to be able to keep all siblings together. So I would likely be visiting each child in a different foster home. Also, with all of them having different fathers it could mean 3 or 4 extended families to deal with! But I was ready to do whatever needed to be done to make sure these babies were safe.

Luckily for the 3 children the case was pretty much over before it even began. Mom took care of the issues present and home they went. I never even got the opportunity to meet them. I think that is a good thing!

Back to waiting for me.

Leave a Reply

