Stats on Child Abuse

477144511After my post yesterday a friend contacted me and asked if I was okay because my posts seem to be getting darker.  I really appreciate my friends and their support.  It means the world to me!  But honestly I didn’t think my posts were that dark.  I’ve actually been holding back.  I felt like my posts were just very matter of fact without much feelings.  I can only imagine what people would think if I were to paint a better picture of how things really were.

Anyway with that being said, I’ve been thinking about writing more and more seems like that is all I’ve been doing……thinking!  Sometimes thinking can seem to get in the way of doing what we need to do.  I was thinking of what people think as they read about my childhood.  I know I shouldn’t but I do still worry about what they think of me and my family.  There’s that dang shame that has been hung on me when it shouldn’t be!  He should be ashamed not me!
I think that a lot of the people who are outside of Louisiana just assume that it’s because we lived in the South that something like this would happen.  They attribute the South as basically being backwoods and ignorant.  So, I did some research and put together  something that shows that this abuse doesn’t just occur in the South.  It is happening all around our country and even worse around the rest of the world.

The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services’ Children’s Bureau report Child Maltreatment 2010 found that 9.2% of victimized children were sexually assaulted;

1 in 5 girls and 1 in 20 boys is a victim of child sexual abuse.

I looked at the national statistics of child sexual abuse and found reports from 30 states and the District of Columbia.  These stats range from 1992 to 2005, I couldn’t find much more updated beyond that. They were also given in different forms so it’s kind of hard to compare state to state.  But, take a look and you will see that this is a REAL problem all around our country and not just in the South.

  • Alabama, 92 out of  763 abuse cases were sexual abuse;
  • Alaska’s rate of sexual abuse is 6 times the national average;
  • Arkansas, 13 out of every 1,000 children are sexually abused;
  • Arizona, 6% of all reported abuse cases were sexual abuse;
  • California, 68 out of every 1,000 children are sexually abused;
  • Colorado, in 1992 there were 264 cases of sexually abused children;
  • Connecticut, in 1997 there were more than 1,000 children sexually abused;
  • Delaware, 9 out of every 1,000 children are sexually abused;
  • D.C., 4 out of every 1,000 children are sexually abused;
  • Florida, in 2001 there were 6,011 cases of sexually abused children;
  • Georgia, in 2000 there were 2,354 cases of sexually abused children;
  • Hawaii, 8 out of every 1,000 children are sexually abused;
  • Idaho, 4 out of every 1,000 children are sexually abused;
  • Illinois, 1 out of every 1,000 children is sexually abused;
  • Indiana, 2 out of every 1,000 children are sexually abused;
  • Iowa, 1 out of every 1,000 children is sexually abused;
  • Kansas, in 2003 there were 1,023 children sexually abused;
  • Kentucky, in 1996 there were 4,624 children sexually abused;
  • Louisiana, in 1999, 32% of all child abuse case involved sexual abuse;
  • Maine, 3.2 out of every 1,000 children are sexually abused;
  • Minnesota, in 2005, 1 out of every 70 child was sexually abused;
  • Nevada, in 2000 there were 254 children sexually abused;
  • New Jersey, 18 out of 1,000 children were sexually abused;
  • North Dakota, in 2001 there were 2,629 children sexually abused;
  • Pennsylvania, in 2000 there were 1,002 children sexually abused;
  • Texas, in 2000, 740 out of 2000 children were sexually abused;
  • Vermont, in 2001 there were 424 children sexually abused;
  • Washington, in 1997, 7.5% of all child abuse cases were sexual abuse;
  • Wisconsin, in 2003 there were 4,606 children sexually abused.

I just want to say once again, thank you to all of my friends and followers for their support. Your questions and comments mean a lot and are always welcomed. I tell these things, not for pity but for the world to know these monsters are out there hurting children everyday!

Leave a Reply

